Santes Creus (Alt Camp)
«Spectacular stained glass and royal tombs amidst the characteristic purity and austerity of the Cistercians. It was home to the first monastic community of the order in Catalonia and was the place chosen by kings and nobles for their eternal rest»
Of the three Cistercian monasteries Santes Creus is the most faithfully reproduces the construction plan Bernard.
One of the largest and best preserved Cistercian monastic ensembles that we can visit today. Founded in 1168, protected by kings and nobility, became a center for spiritual studies and colonization of the territory. The monastic life is held continuously until 1835.
The church, sober and stunning architecture, has the royal tombs of Peter the Great and of James II and his wife Blanca of Anjou, as well as the great admiral Roger de Llúria. We can also admire the stained glass windows and Gothic Cistercian and a Baroque altarpiece of Joseph Tremulles.
Also highlight the chapter house, the escriptorium the great monks' dormitory and cloister Gothic (fourteenth century) attributed to the English Reinart December Fennel, with an elegant carved decoration.
The scenic and visual montage "The world of the Cistercians", considered among the best in Europe of its kind, gives a very full and fascinating of the Order and its legacy.
Ticket + audiovisual
From Tuesday to Sunday (including holidays)
From 1 October to 31 May: 10.00 to 17.00 (+30')
From 1 June to 30 September: 10.00 to 19.00 (+30')
Closed Mondays except holidays, 25 and 26 December and 1 and 6 January.
The ticket office and entrance close 30 minutes before closing time.
Phone num. 977 63 83 29